And Still I Rise! I Rise! My Tribute To Dr. Maya Angelou!

Willie Jolley and Dr. Maya Angelou

Dr. Angelou was an inspiration to me and many people around the world. At one point in her life, she was unable to speak because of a deep fear that her voice would hurt people! But in time, she learned to share her words in a magnificent way. And as a result, her words not did not hurt people, but helped countless numbers!

For many years, I’ve quoted Dr. Angelou in my books and speeches. In my book, It Only Takes A Minute To Change Your Life!, I shared the concept of “And Still I Rise!”  The quote I love is, ”I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, but people will never forget how you made them feel!”

In my book, A Setback Is A Setup For A Comeback, I share her quote, “We may encounter many defeats, but we must not be defeated!” Plus, “We must have courage!  Without courage we cannot practice any other virtue with consistency. We can’t be kind, merciful, generous or honest!”

And in my most recent book, An Attitude of Excellence, I share Angelou’s quote, “If there is something in your life you don’t like, change it! But if you cannot change it, then change your attitude!” WOW!

I will forever be inspired by the quotes of Dr. Maya Angelou –  but most of all, by the incredible life she lived!  God Bless You, Dr. Angelou!

2 thoughts on “And Still I Rise! I Rise! My Tribute To Dr. Maya Angelou!

  1. I remember in my teen years, we learned “And Still I Rise” in school. We also read “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.” Those works inspired me to rise above tough circumstances and showed me we as a race and I as a female can be resilient. Than God Ms. Angelou overcame her personal tragedies and insecurities to share so much with the world. I hope we all do the same so we can inspire those in our sphere of influence. You may think you mean little to the world at large, but to someone in your life, you mean the world.

  2. Dr, maya Angelou, Truly a woman of great wisdom , who will never be forgotten . Her many words of wisdom will live on in the hearts and souls of many !

Leave a Reply

