I Have A Dream!

Below is an excerpt taken from my book, It Only Takes A Minute To Change Your Life.

*I Have A Dream!

Martin Luther King, Jr., gave a famous speech called ‘‘I Have A Dream.’’ We have all heard those powerful words and his soul-stirring, passionate delivery that is timeless in its ability to inspire. In fact, no matter how often I hear that speech, I always get goose bumps because of the power that emanates from it. But as I listened I started to realize the pure importance of these four words: I-Have-a-Dream, I-Have-a-Dream. He didn’t say ‘‘I had a dream,’’ but rather ‘‘I have a dream.’’ Why? Because to be great your dream must be ongoing. To say ‘‘I had a dream’’ implies that the dream has come and gone. But to have a dream means that it is ongoing, it is continuous.

Do you have a dream? Is there a dream burning in your mind and spirit that consumes you and drives you to pursue it, and to eventually achieve it? I also noticed Dr. King did not say, ‘‘I have a wish.’’ Why? Because wishes have no substance and are usually unattainable—like those who say ‘‘I wish I could live my life over again,’’ or ‘‘I wish I were a child again.’’ Most of us have thrown pennies into a wishing well or wished upon a star and never really expected those wishes to come true. They were just our fantasies. But a dream has substance. We dream of losing weight or buying a home or one day becoming the President of the United States. Dreams can, and do, come true!

Don’t be confused between a wish and a dream. Remember some people want it to happen, some wish it would happen, and others make it happen! Dream big dreams. Think big thoughts and make it happen.

 

*Taken from the book, It Only Takes A Minute To Change Your Life, by Willie Jolley.  To get your full version of the book or eBook, go to www.williejolley.com/it-only-book.

Leave a Reply

