Today’s Live Better With Willie Jolley Tip: Don’t Commiserate

Today’s Live Better With Willie Jolley Tip: Don’t Commiserate

To commiserate is to sit around and wallow in the sorrows that are afflicting you and others. I recommend that you do not commiserate because it literally adds fuel to a growing fire that can have an impact on your psyche and your emotional stability.  We often find that a constant barrage of negative information can lead to a negative view of the world.

Commiserating can create a psychological construct- a self-fulfilling prophecy, which is a situation that is not yet true. However, it is able to become true because you have created an expectation that makes it become a reality.  The more bad news you talk about, the more it starts to manifest itself in your life. It is called the “Woe is me” Syndrome.

I recently had a conversation with a guy I went to elementary school with. I saw him on the street one day and asked how he was doing.  He said, “You know, it’s tough out here.”  I asked him what he had been doing with himself and he replied, “Nothing! I gave up on looking for a job!”  When I asked him why, he said, “Because everyone I know says there are no jobs!” I know a lot of people who have gotten caught up in layoffs and had job offers within days. The difference was they were willing to continue to look for work. Don’t get caught up in a “Woe is me” mindset!  Keep looking up and keep on believing your best is yet to come!

Visit my website at www. williejolley.com for free motivation, and make every minute count!

Leave a Reply

